Welcome to BioMedical Transporters 2019


Please note that the following schedule is preliminary and is subject to change.

The conference program is available!
Last update: June 24, 2019.

Keynote lecturer:

  1. Discovery of CFTR modulators for the treatment of cystic fibrosis (tentative title). Speaker: Sabine Hadida, Vice President, Medicinal Chemistry, Vertex Pharmaceuticals San Diego


  1. Advances in transporter drug discovery, ADMET and DDI. Chair: Kathleen M Hillgren
  2. New methods to study SLCs. Chair: Giulio Superti-Furga
  3. New strategies in chemistry to target transporters and channels (NCCR TransCure). Chair: Jean-Louis Reymond
  4. Women in science. Chair: Rajini Rao. Presentations/panel discussion.
  5. Structural biology of transporters (NCCR TransCure). Chair: Dimitrios Fotiadis
  6. Personalized/precision medicine. Chair: Anne Nies
  7. SLCs and rare diseases. Chair: Gaia Novarino
  8. Transport across the maternal-fetal barrier in the placenta (NCCR TransCure). Chair: Christiane Albrecht
  9. Session on organelles. Chair: Edmund Kunji
  10. Drug transporters as targets of drug development based on their physiological roles. Chair: Ken-ichi Inui
  11. Genetic variations in solute carrier genes and latest breakthroughs in the transporter field. Chair: Matthias Hediger
  12. Transporters in kidney. Chair: Bruno Vogt
  13. TRP and Orai calcium channels. Chair: Christine Peinelt

BMT2019 Organizing Committee:

  • Anne Nies (IKP Stuttgart, Germany)
  • David Hepworth (Pfizer, Cambridge, USA)
  • Ken-ichi Inui (Kyoto Pharmaceutical University, Japan)
  • Bruno Stieger (University of Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Kevin Rupp (Administrative Organizer, University of Bern, Switzerland)


Matthias A. Hediger
University of Bern, Switzerland


Anne Nies
Dr. Margarete Fischer-Bosch-Institut für Klinische Pharmakologie (IKP), Stuttgart, Germany

David Hepworth
Department of Worldwide Medicinal Chemistry, Pfizer, Cambridge, USA

Ken-Ichi Inui
Kyoto Pharmaceutical University, Japan

Bruno Stieger
University of Zürich, Switzerland


BMT2019 Admin Team